Talking About Trees | DocHouse

Meet-Up: Talking About Trees + Chat (Sat 1 Feb)

Dir: Suhaib Gasmelbari
France / Sudan / Germany / Chad / Qatar / 2019 / 93mins

For the four Sudanese film directors at the heart of Talking About Trees, cinema has been more than just their profession. The freedom to make and share films is their driving passion, and it’s a freedom that they long to bring back to Sudan.

After the 1989 military coup, public screenings went out of favour with the Islamist government. Khartoum's cinemas were closed and the country's once rich film industry was curtailed. Now retired, the four life-long friends have formed the Sudan Film Group, with a mission to revitalise the country's film culture, starting with an ambitious plan in a crumbling open air cinema.

But how do you organise a free public screening with no equipment, no money and ever-increasing red tape at every turn?

A film about the value of cultural history and freedom of expression, Talking About Trees is a film-lover's delight and a paean to the joy of cinema.

On Saturday 1 Feb, we invite doc lovers to join us for an informal, book-club type catch up after our 4pm showing of Talking About Trees.

We'll start by meeting by the main entrance at 3:30pm, then after the film, we'll convene to the bar to share your thoughts about the film with like-minded enthusiasts. All you have to do to attend is buy a ticket, and attending is totally optional.

Book Tickets

Date: Fri 31 Jan 2020 - Thu 6 Feb 2020
Price: PEAK £9 (£7 CONCESSIONS) / OFF PEAK £5
Friday 31st January
21:00
Saturday 1st February
16:00
Sunday 2nd February
18:00
Monday 3rd February
14:30
Tuesday 4th February
20:30
Wednesday 5th February
18:30
Thursday 6th February
16:15

PLEASE NOTE: THERE WILL BE NO ADVERTS PLAYED BEFORE FILMS IN THE BERTHA DOCHOUSE SCREEN. ALL FEATURES WILL START PROMPTLY FOLLOWING A SELECTION OF TRAILERS.