The Guardian Presents: Colette | DocHouse

The Guardian Presents: Colette + Q&A

Dir: Anthony Giacchino
2020 / 25mins

Events at Home

Enjoy live online non-fiction events, which are always free where possible.

Available from 19:00 Tue 20 Apr to 23:59 Thu 22 Apr

Available Worldwide

Price: Free

Book

Join DocHouse and The Guardian to celebrate Colette, the Oscar®-nominated short documentary which follows 90-year Colette Marin-Catherine, one of the last surviving members of the French Resistance, on a journey she never thought she'd take.

As a young girl, Colette fought the Nazis as a member of the French Resistance. Since 1945, she has refused to set foot in Germany. That changes when a history student named Lucie enters her life and encourages her to visit the concentration camp where her brother, Jean-Pierre, was killed 74 years before.

It’s a journey of discovery on many levels, but the film’s greatest revelation is Colette herself, who at 90, is finally ready to let go of what she has, for over seven decades, held so tightly inside.
 

This screening will be followed by a live online Q&A with director Anthony Giacchino and producer Alice Doyard, hosted by Guardian journalist Iman Amrani.

To be able to ask questions in the Q&A, start promptly at 7pm BST/ 11am PST / 2pm EST on Tuesday 20th April. If you are unable to make that time, but would like to watch a recorded version of the film + Q&A this will be available until 11:59pm BST/ 3:59pm PST/ 6:59pm EST Thursday 22nd April.

HOW TO WATCH: This programme will be broadcast live on our custom built streaming site. Once you have registered to attend, you will receive an email on the day of the event with further details about how to access our streaming site. If you are a Gmail user, please consider moving our emails to your Primary tab.

about Guardian Documentaries - Real people. Untold stories.

Colette is one of the latest releases from Guardian Documentaries. From Oscar®-
nominated titles to hidden gems, Guardian Documentaries works with independent filmmakers to tell powerful stories of people from around the world. 

Watch their other short films for free on their website, and sign up to their newsletter to be the first to hear when new films come out.