Watch XY CHELSEA | See More & Book Now | DocHouse Cinema
Close up still of the face of Chelsea Manning,  subject of the documentary XY Chelsea.

XY CHELSEA + Dir Q&A (23 MAY)

Dir: Tim Travers Hawkins
United Kingdom / 2019 / 92mins

What would you do if you had access to government secrets that could change the world for the better if released – but would land you in unknown trouble? See what happened to Private Manning in XY Chelsea.

In 2010, Manning was an intelligence analyst and uploaded thousands of documents to WikiLeaks revealing U.S soldiers targeting civilians in Iraq. It was the biggest leak of state secrets in U.S history, and she faced the full force of the law – with time in solitary confinement.

President Obama’s last act in office was to free her from her lifetime prison sentence.

Now a free woman, Chelsea Manning spends time with her closest allies and reflects on her actions and persecution she experienced due to her gender identity.

XY Chelsea follows Manning’s release 7 years later; her complicated adjustment to an unexpected freedom and a transformed world where social media dominates our narratives.

See the full line-up of films showing in our cinema.

This is a preview screening that will take place in our larger Renoir cinema and followed by a director Q&A.

Book Tickets

Date: Thu 23 May 2019 - Thu 30 May 2019
Price: EVENT £12.50 (£10 CONCESSIONS) / Regular PEAK £9 (£7 CONCESSIONS) / OFF PEAK £5
Thursday 23rd May
18:30
Friday 24th May
16:30 20:30
Saturday 25th May
14:30 18:30
Sunday 26th May
14:00 20:15
Monday 27th May
16:30
Tuesday 28th May
14:30
Wednesday 29th May
18:30
Thursday 30th May
16:30 20:30

PLEASE NOTE: THERE WILL BE NO ADVERTS PLAYED BEFORE FILMS IN THE BERTHA DOCHOUSE SCREEN. ALL FEATURES WILL START PROMPTLY FOLLOWING A SELECTION OF TRAILERS.