ON HER SHOULDERS | DocHouse

on_her_shoulders_-_official_uk_trailer

ON HER SHOULDERS

Dir: Alexandria Bombach
United States / 2019 / 95mins

Everything changed on the night of August 3rd 2014. Isis stormed Nadia Murad’s Yazidi community and killed 700 people. Men and elders were massacred, while women and children were forced into sex slavery. Nadia Murad eventually escaped and lived in a refugee camp until she came to Europe. As Nadia engages with the global media, she faces insensitive and personal questions about rape, while trying to address how people can help the surviving Yazidi community. With director of Yazda, Murad Ismael at her side, and support from lawyer Amal Clooney, she prepares to present her case at the UN public hearing. On Her Shoulders is an intimate insight into the pressure of international scrutiny, and the resilience and courage of this year’s 2018 Nobel Peace Prize winner.

The screening on Wed 16 Jan was a special DocHouse preview followed by a director Q&A. The film opens on general release on Fri 25 Jan.

Book Tickets

Date: Wed 16 Jan 2019 - Thu 31 Jan 2019
Price: Regular PEAK £9 (£7 CONCESSIONS) / OFF PEAK £5
Friday 25th January
18:30
Saturday 26th January
20:30
Sunday 27th January
17:45
Monday 28th January
14:30
Tuesday 29th January
18:30
Wednesday 30th January
20:20
Thursday 31st January
18:40

PLEASE NOTE: THERE WILL BE NO ADVERTS PLAYED BEFORE FILMS IN THE BERTHA DOCHOUSE SCREEN. ALL FEATURES WILL START PROMPTLY FOLLOWING A SELECTION OF TRAILERS.